Pennsylvania Child Protective Services Law (CPSL)
Information for PCADV Domestic Violence Programs
Technical Assistance 1-888-235-3425 or 717-671-4767
Info and Forms about CPSL Background Checks
PA Child Welfare Online Portal
-Mandated reporters can apply for clearances and accounts to submit online reports of child abuse
-Programs can issue payment codes and manage individual employee/volunteer clearances
-Definitions/FAQs - what is a Permissive Reporter; Volunteer; Mandated Reporter; Employees Having Contact with Children
-Disclosure Statements Applications for volunteers and employees
Pennsylvania Child Abuse Clearance History Certification Form (CY113) (link to Spanish form is broken) Application form and instructions for individuals to apply for PA background checks
NOTE: The mandatory three-hour Child Welfare Information System (CWIS) training on mandated reporting does not count toward the PCADV 40-hour training total for domestic violence advocates or volunteers.
Alert! Computer use can be monitored.
Review these safety tips to learn more. Click the red quick escape button above to immediately leave this site if your abuser may see you reading it.
is a division of the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services responsible for accepting reports of suspected child abuse 24 hours per day, 7 days a week. ChildLine can receive reports from mandated reporters by phone at 1-800-932-0313 or online at www.compass.state.pa.us/cwis.
Child Protective Services Statutes
PCADV Online Learning Module: Mandated Child Abuse Reporting
If, as part of your role within a PCADV domestic violence organization, you are required to report suspected child abuse, this module will assist you. You will understand what is considered child abuse and how and when to make a report. You'll also learn best practices for working with victims and considering victim safety after a report is made.
To complete this module and access more technical assistance information for domestic violence programs and advocates, please log in to the PCADV Training Institute. The Training Institute is available only to advocates working with PCADV domestic violence programs. Domestic violence advocates must take both this module and the DHS-approved mandatory reporter training.